Highlights from the Maiden Workshop on Policy Analysis and Advocacy

On the 5th and 6th of September 2023, Agora Policy hosted a workshop on Policy Analysis and Advocacy in Abuja, Nigeria. This marked the first in a series of workshops scheduled to be held across the country.

With the support of the MacArthur Foundation, over 50 participants from civil society, the media, government and research institutions were introduced to the skills and knowledge needed to undertake evidence-based and impactful policy analysis and advocacy within the Nigerian context.

The opening session of the workshop featured speeches and presentations from Mr Waziri Adio, Executive Director/Founder, Agora Policy; Dr. Kole Shettima, Country Director, MacArthur Foundation; Dr Joe Abah, Country Director DAI; and Dr Osasuyi Dirisu, Executive Director, The Policy Innovation Centre.

The participants were subsequently introduced to the tools and resources for undertaking policy analysis and advocacy by experts such as Prof Babajide Fowowe, University of Ibadan; Prof Bonaventure Haruna, University of Jos; Prof Abiodun Adeniyi, Baze University; and Dr Mohammed Shuaibu, University of Abuja.

The second day of the workshop focused on practical aspects of evidence-based policy analysis and advocacy. These sessions were taken by Mallam Bolaji Abdullahi, former Minister of Youth Development and Sport and Mr Samson Itodo, Executive Director of Yiaga Africa, who shared valuable nuggets from their careers within the Nigerian policy landscape. Additionally, participants were given useful tools from Prof. F Amaya Adakai of the University of Jos. Placed in groups, the workshop participants analysed and presented evidence-based policy recommendations using the resources introduced across both days.

Group Photograph
Participant registration
Mr Waziri Adio and Prof Babajide Fowowe
Cross Section of Agora Publications (1)
Cross Section of Agora Publications
Dr Kole Shettima and Mr Waziri Adio
Dr Osasuyi Dirisu, Dr Kole Shettima, Mr Waziri Adio, Dr Joe Abah
Mr Waziri Adio
Dr Kole Shettima
Dr Osasuyi Dirisu
Dr Joe Abah
Prof Babajide Fowowe
Prof Babajide Fowowe
Dr Mohammed Shuaibu
Mallam Bolaji Abdullahi
Prof Bonaventure Haruna
Prof Amayah Adakai
Mr Samson Itodo
Workshop Participants
Workshop Participants copy
Workshop Participants
Workshop Participants Presentation
Workshop Participants Presentation
Certificate presentation
Certificate presentation
Certificate presentation